The Dreaming Age

Sometimes something special reminds me what it’s like to dream again. And it’s like this hidden emotion that gets forgotten until something lights it up. And I see it as clearly as I did when I was younger, and simpler, and when things were much more magical. And it overcomes me. I don’t have to work for it. The dream just comes back to me. And that is more poetic to me than anything I can explain.

I think those kinds of dreams happen in that intricate time when we are changing from children into adults. I think that at some special youthful interval we get a chance to be overwhelmingly complex and fearlessly hopeful. I would dream so deeply then. My dreams tend to be more technical now, and less beautiful, and less like dreams and more like goals. Without the magic and without the hope of undamaged youth. But sometimes I hear a special song and it takes me back, and I feel more like myself than ever before.

One thought on “The Dreaming Age

  1. I was thinking about something related the other night. I saw a shooting star, and I didn’t know what to wish for because all my wishes are goals now. I don’t want magical help from a falling star, I want to be strong enough to achieve my goals on my own. I feel strong and empowered, but I also feel like there is a little less magic in my world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

